Honors Humanities in the News

Stephanie Lehrman receives The Gordon Prize in Managing Cybersecurity Resources (2022).

Olivia Mezzullo and Gabriella Alfano win Winston Family Honors Short Essay Awards (2022).

Emily Eason named 2022 IDEA Award Winner, a division of the Library Award for Undergraduate Research, for her Honors Humanities Keystone research paper, "Olde Towne, New Townspeople: An Anthropological Analysis of the Life Stages of 1.5 Generation Latino Immigrants in Gaithersburg, MD” (http://hdl.handle.net/1903/28547).

Jacob Glassman named a finalist for this year's university medalist (2022). The award recognizes seniors with top academic performance, character and service.

Reid Buskirk named a Winter 2021 Senior Marshal. Founded in 1991, the senior marshal program recognizes graduating Terps who demonstrate the highest levels of scholarship, service, extracurricular activity and personal growth.

Alicia Perkovich receives 2021 Dean's Senior Scholar Award.

Eunice Braimoh chosen as a 2021-2022 Philip Merrill Presidential Scholar and a 2021 Dean's Senior Scholar (2021-2022).

Nassay Hassan receives the Honors College Labonski endowed family Terp Start Scholarship (2021-2022).

Daisy Yu chosen as a 2021-2022 Philip Merrill Presidential Scholar (2021-2022).

Daisy Yu receives the University Student Judiciary Scholarship and the Alumni Association Scholarship (2021-2022).

Daisy Yu inducted into Omicron Delta Kappa, a nationally recognized leadership honor society, and elected to be their Digital Communications Chair (2021).

HoHum Alum Megha Rajagopalan wins the Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting (2021).

Priya Buddhavarapu creates antiracist book club and event series. June 2021 marks its one year anniversary. The popular series is open to the public (2020-2021).

Jacy Zhang and William Wong receive the English Department's Academic Excellence Awards (2021).

Mary Murdock wins the Sarah Ann Soper English Undergraduate Service Award (2021).

William Wong awarded the English Department's Joyce Tayloe Horrell Award for most distinguished academic record and the Library Award for Undergraduate Research for his research paper titled "Strength in Contradiction: The Radicalization of Incel Rhetoric" (2021).

Julia Pavlick and Philippos Sourvinos receive Creative and Performing Arts Scholarships (2021).

Emily Eason awarded the Kenneth and Jacqueline Ulman Family Endowed Scholarship (2020-2021).

Catherine Nguyen receives the Critical Language Scholarship (2021).

William Wong wins the Winston Family Honors Award for his honors thesis entitled, "Imprisoned by Orthodoxy: Religion in Dune" (2021).

Philippos Sourvinos honored as a member of the 2021 Maryland Medallion Society (2021).

Isabella Baker awarded the Dean's Freshman Scholarship (2020).

Gabrielle Gilbert receives the James F. Harris Arts and Humanities Visionary Scholarship (2020).

Jacob Glassman, Siri Neerchal, and Philippos Sourvinos named Dean's Senior Scholars (2020).

Amelia Yasuda awarded the Arundel Mills Scholarship (2020).

Simisola Olorunwunmi receives the Portz Outstanding Honors Student Award (2020).

Associate Director Dr. Sarah Humud awarded the ARHU Faculty Service Award (2020).

Siri Neerchal and William Wong named 2020-2021 Philip Merrill Presidential Scholars (2020).

Joey Marcellino wins the Winston Family Honors Award for his honors thesis entitled, “Evolution and Intellectual History of the Frauchiger-Renner ARgument” (2020).

Noah Eckman receives the William L. Thomas Student Government Association Award for outstanding leadership and service to the Student Government Association (2020).

Aisac Accad receives the Boren Scholarship to study in Indonesia (2020).

Jacy Zhang publishes her photography in Laurel Moon (2019).

Jasmine Baten selected as an ARHU Dean's Senior Scholar (December 2019).

Eunice Braimoh, Casey Ottenwaelder, Emily Pan, Philippos Sourvinos, and Emily Zhou perform in Kreativity Diversity Troupe's End of Semester Show (November 2019).

Carli Fine and Lilli Righter perform in A Midsummer Night's Dream with the Maryland Shakespeare Players (November 2019).

William Wong receives the 2019 Fulbright UK Summer Institute award to study British culture for one month at the University of Sussex (2019).

Katrina Hrabinski receives a Foxworth Do Good Internship Endowed Scholarship (May 2019).

Brendan Sheehy and Madison Kunkel win Winston Family Honors College Writing Awards (May 2018).

Griffin Riddler and Bronwen Schriml awarded Boren Scholarships (May 2018).

Katie Miller's petition for refugees to be housed on UMD's campus gains SGA endorsement (February 2018).

Social Media